top of page

Chilombo


Chilombo album cover by Jhene Aiko

Jhene Aiko dropped her third album, Chilombo. I have not loved every song on an album since CTRL by SZA, but Jhene filled every space that my mind has been in lately. She created a mosaic of her love, sex, pain, and doubt which most of us feel all the time. The chimes and meditation sounds were so relaxing. Jhene really out here trying to heal us with her music. We stan forever.


The features are some of my favorite artists, like H.E.R., Nas, John freaking Legend! I had the album on repeat while I went to sleep and played it one more time before church in the morning. There's a song for something everyone of us has ever felt. If you're heartbroken and reminiscing, play '10k Hours ft. Nas'. You need some affirmations because you're doubting yourself? Play 'Born Tired'. Or maybe you just trying to vibe then play the whole damn album. It's the lyrics that really sold it for me because I was scared. I love Jhene Aiko before y'all jump on me, buttttt her music is very specific to her and can sound similar.


Jhene told Billboard, “In a sense, I am like a volcano, and this album is an eruption. It starts with ‘Triggered’, and there’s a lava flow with all these songs where it’s a free-flowing jam session. And then it settled – and it became this beautiful land where there’s new life.” Yess mama. I was heartbroken, in love, and feeling like a bad bitch throughout.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page