top of page

Nike Hands-Free

I saw these nikes and wanted them instantly! I loved the up and down engineering of the shoe. Most people wouldn't describe their sneakers as fun, but this shoe looked fun to me. Nike Go Flyease were designed by Tobie Hatfield for athletes of all abilities to perform better. Tobie was inspired by Matthew Walzer in 2012 and the special olympians he'd already been working with. Matthew was born 2-months premature with under developed lungs which led to Cerebral Palsy. Most young adults are concerned with deciding on a major or campus activities, but Matthew was concerned with tying and untying his shoes. He wrote this to Nike:

“My dream is to go to the college of my choice without having to worry about someone coming to tie my shoes every day. I've worn Nike basketball shoes all my life. I can only wear this type of shoe, because I need ankle support to walk. At 16 years old, I am able to completely dress myself, but my parents still have to tie my shoes. As a teenager who is striving to become totally self-sufficient, I find this extremely frustrating and, at times, embarrassing.”

The shoe when open looks similar to a high heel. You slide your foot in and step down. It becomes secure once your foot is complete inside and flat on the ground. To remove, step on the back tab and lift your foot up and out. Simple and 100% hands-free. I loved this shoe more once I read the backstory and knew how much it could help the public with everyday tasks we take for granted.

The Nike Go Flyease will be dropping in limited quantities February 15. More quantities will be available later in the year if you miss the first drop. There appears to be three color ways and they'll retail for $120. Resellers stay away because y'all ruin everything good. Just kidding, but seriously don't buy them up from people they were designed for. I wouldn't consider myself a sneaker head, but I can't wait to get my hands on a pair! The white/neon are calling to me. They'll be available for purchase on Nike's website and other sneaker sites.


Check out the video for more info:



FOLLOW ME

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page