top of page

Self-Made

In light of Women's History Month, Netflix has a new series called 'Self-Made'. It's inspired by the life of Madame C.J. Walker, played by Academy Award winner, Octavia Spencer. A little background if you're new to Black History: Madame C.J. Walker is the first woman to be a self-made millionaire. She developed hair care products and cosmetics for Black women. She was the blueprint for today's brands like Shea Moisture and Carol's Daughter. Who knows what I'd look like without her innovations!

I haven't finished the series yet but I'm already sold. Your hair determines how you feel about yourself and I'm able to connect with the feeling of being "ugly". Before today's natural hair wave and loving yourself, your hair had to be creamy cracked, fried, and slicked to the side to be deemed presentable enough to be treated like a person.

I struggled with finding the look that made me feel most beautiful growing up. Funny enough that I'm bald but I'm blessed to be bald by choice. I recommend this series if you are a person with hair on your head. It relates to us all and provides a modernized take on Black hair. Hopefully the public will deeper understand how far back the hurt goes when workplaces discriminate against our hair. It's not just hair. It's our heritage.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page